CUHK Jointly Organizes Academic Symposium with NSFC

Co-organized by The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) and the Beijing-Hong Kong Academic Exchange Centre (BHKAEC), the Academic Symposium on Climate Change, Health and Sustainability was held in CUHK from 24 to 25 November 2021.  Guests officiating at the opening ceremony included Professor Sham Mai-Har, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of CUHK; Mr. Liu Mao-Zhou, Level II Inspector of Department of Educational, Scientific and Technological Affairs of Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in the HKSAR; Mr. Hsu Hoi Shan, Director and President of Beijing-Hong Kong Academic Exchange Centre. Two renowned keynote speakers joining the symposium were Dr. Tian-Jun Zhou, researcher of Institute of Atmospheric Physics of Chinese Academy of Sciences; and Dr. Rebecca Lee Lok-Sze, Founder of Polar Museum Foundation.

Apart from the 2 keynote talks, a total of 26 academic presentations were delivered to enhance intellectual exchange in the field.  Scholars and students from local universities including CUHK, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University joined the symposium as well.  Among CUHK speakers were academic members from Department of Geography and Resource Management, School of Public Health and Primary Care, and School of Life Sciences. The event successfully brought together experts and scholars to share ideas for future research and collaborations.

Since 2007, CUHK and NSFC have co-organized annual academic symposia with different themes, providing platforms for intellectual exchange between scientists and scholars in the China mainland and Hong Kong, while exploring collaboration opportunities.  Previous topics included Quantum Information Science and Technology, Smart Cities, Bio-informatics and Its Applications, Chemical Biology, Condensed Matter and Optical Physics, Developmental Studies in Health and Diseases, Control and Automation, Climate Change, Digestive Disease, Big Data, Adolescent Mental Health and Disorders and Big Data Driven Management and Decision, and AI. For information of previous symposia, please click here.

中大與國家自然科學基金委員會合辦學術研討會

由香港中文大學(中大)、國家自然科學基金委員會(基金委)及京港學術交流中心共同主辦的「氣候變化、健康與可持續發展學術研討會」於11月24日至25日在中大祖堯堂及線上同步舉行。冀通過學者專家跨學科交流,促進人類生活變得更美好,兩地出席者逾百人。研討會開幕典禮由中大副校長岑美霞教授、中央人民政府駐香港特別行政區聯絡辦公室教育科技部劉懋洲二級巡視員及京港學術交流中心徐海山總裁擔任主禮嘉賓。大會邀得中國科學院大氣物理研究所周天軍研究員及極地博物館基金會創辦人李樂詩博士發表主題演講。

研討會合共發表了2篇主題報告及26篇學術報告。來自本港多所院校(包括香港中文大學、香港大學、香港浸會大學、香港理工大學)的學者聯同內地專家、學生和業界人士在會上交流研究心得。中大的講者包括來自地理與資源管理學系、公共衛生及基層醫療學院及生命科學學院的代表。會議成功匯集相關領域的專家學者,為相關研究發展發表成果,提供意見。 

自2007年起,中大與國家自然科學基金會每年共同舉辦不同主題的學術研討會,提供平台讓兩地學者就不同研究領域交換意見,並探討未來合作機會。過往研討會的主題包括量子信息科技、智慧城市、生物資訊及應用、化學生物學、凝聚態及光物理學、發育過程中的健康與疾病、自動化與控制、氣候變化、消化疾病、海量數據、青少年精神健康及疾病,大數據驅動的管理與決策,以及人工智能。請按此了解往年研討會的資訊。